Tags

, , ,

Don’t be misled by sophistry! Not everything is a lock and a throw! We practice a hard style! Hard stylists hit! And we like to hit! ’nuff said.

In this application from Dosan Hyung, we use the wedging block close up, stopping an oncoming swing from the inside. The wedging block intercepts the swinging limb or one forearm intercepts the swinging limb, and the other strikes the opponent in the neck or face. You are well placed then to use a front kick to the inside of the opponent’s thigh or knee. Not shown is the double punch used to strip away the opponent’s right arm and counter with a strike to opponent’s ribs.

I started by saying don’t be misled by sophistry, a reference to a species of instructor who would teach a multitude of ‘applications’ from the one sequence. Oh, this move could be a lock. Or it could be a throw. It could be you holding him in this way then punching him. I have seen the most esoteric applications shown even for the first pattern in Taekwondo ‘Chon-ji’ and taught to beginners. Why? People don’t learn like that, and it can’t be trained like that into something that comes second nature in a conflict situation.

So in this particular video, I am showing simple strikes that make sense, and which can be used without much further training. Yes, I can lift both of my hands up and collide with anything coming my way. Yes, I now know I can connect with the inside of the opponent’s leg quite nicely. And yes, I can move the opponent’s hand and then level a solid punch to his ribs. Now that that’s sorted and  you know you can knock the wind out of the opponent, let’s talk about controlling him and and maybe immobilizing him until further help comes along.

