Tags

, ,

Gaebaek. What You See is What You Get. is my performance of Gae Baek after a long time of not practicing it. There are of course excuses; which no one needs to hear. What you need to know however is that I’m getting a snapshot of this form to see if I can improve on it. Yes, I filmed myself doing a form pretty much in one take – without much of a warmup and using my phone camera so I could see in all honesty how good or bad Gaebaek was. Or how in actuality, I was.

What would I like to improve?

  • The camera angle and filming is all wrong. I can only see half of the form, and have to guess what the other half is doing. I should attempt to improve on filming, not necessarily using a better camera, but by using better angles so you can see the form from all sides. I’ve got an idea to spin the camera around the practitioner for a 360 degree view – we’ll see if we can organise that.
  • Forward stance. After 30 years you’d think that that would be sharp and the back leg should be straight. Unfortunately, it doesn’t seem that way. Or is it because the uniform was unironed? Please, let it be the uniform! LOL.
  • Execute a ‘scooping block’ in step 9 and step 29. The vagaries of formwork often betray a lack of personal reflection about what this open palm upward pressing motion is all about. I think the double pressing block from Joong-gun step 27 and step 29 allows me to push an upper arm grab or a neck control over my head so I can duck under the arm; and it would be my guess that this upper pressing motion from Gaebaek would do the same except that the reverse hand allows me to either block an incoming strike or perform and handlock whilst manipulating opponent’s arm. Whatever it is I need to make both consistent.
  • The W-shape block coming out from the low knife hand guarding block in step 39 was not done sharply enough. I think for it’s purpose it’s got to snap up, a reflection of how it’s going to be used in a realistic situation. (See Toigye W Block). Adding to that, the leg lift and stamping motion should torque the W block more before the arms are swung around.

Gotta keep practicing!

